Erland Lee (Museum) Home
The Lee Family
James & Hannah (Corman) Lee came to Upper Canada and settled in Saltfleet Township (present-day Stoney Creek) as United Empire Loyalists in 1792. They were the first generation of Lees to live at Edgemount, now the Erland Lee (Museum) Home, built by their son and daughter-in-law, John & Mary (Moore) Lee, in 1808. Through the generations, the Lee family added to their 1808 log cabin home and built it into the stunning example of Carpenter Gothic Revival architecture it is today.
Birthplace of the Women's Institute
In February 1897, Erland Lee (great-grandson of James & Hannah Lee) and his wife, Janet (Chisholm) Lee, invited Adelaide Hunter Hoodless to speak at a Lady’s Night meeting of the Farmer’s Institute. Afterwards, a group of women (and a few husbands) gathered in Janet & Erland’s dining room to found the Women’s Institutes. Janet Lee penned the constitution and Christina (Armstrong) Smith served as the first president.
From Family Home to Museum
In 1972, the Federated Women's Institutes of Ontario (FWIO) opened the Erland Lee (Museum) Home to the public after purchasing the home directly from the Lee family. The FWIO wanted to preserve the home and its grounds as a memorial to the birthplace of the Women's Institutes (WI) and to feature the rural, upper-middle-class Victorian lifestyle of the Lees. The FWIO worked tirelessly to restore the exterior and the 1873 addition to their 1897 beauty, with the 1860 addition serving as living space for the Museum's live-in hostess & her family. Now, the FWIO operates its provincial office out of this 1860 southern addition.
The white board-and-batten home contains artifacts and furniture c.1790- 1930. Many of the artifacts are original to the six generations of the Lee family who lived in the home between 1808 and 1971.
One of the three original Lee building on the once 100-acre farm is the 1930 chicken coop. This building has housed chickens and even a farm labourer, and now serves as garden storage. The chicken coop was carefully renovated in 2017 thanks to the generous donation of Hollie & Marlene Archer.
The c.1873 Carriage House, once called the Drive Shed, is the third & final of the three original buildings on the property. It features displays on farming, Stoney Creek history, assorted artifacts donated from the community, and other special exhibits. The museum also boasts a stunning quilt collection, with a mix of traditional and modern patterns and techniques, many quilted by members of the Women's Institutes for various milestones and fundraisers. The highlight of the quilt collection, and a piece of true Canadiana, is the 1875 Margaret Sheriff Quilt.
Fridays & Saturdays 11am - 4pm
Or by appointment
The Erland Lee (Museum) Home is currently operating on reduced hours in a continued effort to keep staff, volunteers, and the community safe.
Want behind the scenes info about the Museum?
Interested in free unlimited* Museum visits?
Interested in extra history & artifact content?
If you said yes to any of these and want to help support the long term sustainability of the Erland Lee (Museum) Home, then you should consider joining our membership program!
Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org to learn more or become a member today!
*during scheduled open hours