Jarratt-Creighton WI 100th Anniversary

Pictured: Evelyn Peck (FWIO President 2013-2014), Gloria Johnson, Grace Hobson, Barbara Ann Cook cutting the cake, Mildred Tripp (Branch President), Brenda Bailey, Ruth Tudhope (Life Member) and Gennine McGinnis.

Seventy-four people met at Jarratt Hall on August 21, 2014 to celebrate the 100th Anniversary of Jarratt-Creighton Women’s Institute (Simcoe Area).  The Tweedsmuir History Books were on display for all to see.  FWIO President, Evelyn Peck presented a certificate from FWIO and 100 year pins to each of the Branch’s six Members.

FWIO Past President, Elsie Stephenson brought greetings and said how much she admired the antique display that was set up.  Alana Robinson, Western Regional Board Director, brought greetings and with the help of her display board, she showed the various levels in Women’s Institute.  Simcoe Area President, Donna Jebb and Simcoe North District President, Lorraine Hook both brought greetings and congratulated all Members of the Branch.

Scott MacPherson represented Garfield Dunlop’s MPP office and presented certificates from Premier Kathleen Wynne and Dunlop.  Bruce Stanto (MP) presented a certificate from Stephen Harper and himself.  Mayor Harry Hughes, Deputy Mayor Ralph Hough and several councillors from Oro-Medonte Township brought greetings and congratulations.

Members from other Areas, Districts and Branches brought greetings and thanks for the invitation to spend the day with the Branch.

Guest speaker, Tim Crawford spoke of the early plight of women as they came to the wilderness from England and Ireland.  A musical interlude was provided by Bryan Sutton, a folk singer from Creighton.

Lunch was served by the Members to complete the day.  As everyone left they were presented with a grab bag containing many useful items.