Sebringville WI 100th Anniversary

Sebringville Women's Institute celebrated their 100th Anniversary at Emmanuel United Church in Sebringville. The hall was decorated in blue hydrangea and yellow daisies to signify the Institutes colours. President Olive Riehl welcomed visitors and Edith Schneider was in charge of the guest book. Olive gave opening remarks and Members sang the Ode accompanied by Mary Otto at the piano, followed by repeating the Mary Stewart Collect in unison.


Greetings were provided by John Wilkinson, MPP Perth Middlesex; Ron McKay, Warden of Perth County; Ian Forest, Mayor of Perth East; Anne Innes, London Area WI President and Susan Christie, President of Perth South WI. Evelyn Thornton provided a history of the Branch. A memorial tribute was conducted by Anne Innes, Susan Christie and Marjorie Davidson.


Margaret Wade of Stratford was the speaker and the Old Spice Girls of Mitchell provided musical entertainment. Anne Innes, on behalf of the Federated Women's Institutes of Ontario, presented 100 Year Pins to the Members.


Marjorie Luckart, Audrey Ische, Marjorie Davidson and Doris Jacob served a delicious lunch. Courtesies were received from the various Institutes in attendance—namely Avonton, Carlingford, Elm Grove, Goulds, Kirkton, Motherwell, St. Pauls and Staffa.